Nightlife and An Atheist in Perugia

The Hubby and I went out about Perugia this evening.  We left the apartment at 10:30pm and headed to a couple of bars that we had discovered earlier in the day.  We stopped at La Terrazza,  a quiet, snazzy, classy place with what I can only describe as “experimental” music playing over the speakers.

At La Terrezza bar

Then we headed to an Irish tavern named Shamrock’s Pub, where we met a bunch of English-speaking students from the Foreigner’s University.  Next we stopped and sat on the steps of the Piazza Quattro Novembre (THE fountain in Perugia) with all of the rest of Perugia’s nightlife – the steps of Cathedrale S. Lorenzo were packed with people drinking birre, smoking, laughing and generally having a great time.

At the Piazza Quattro Novembre

And then we strolled up the busy touristy street of Corso Vennucci, where the Hubby bought some gelato.  On the way back we ran into a guy who was standing with a small group of people  and wearing a shirt that said Kill Your Idols with a picture of Jesus Christ wearing the thorns and gazing upward.  I approached him with my phrasebook in hand and asked “Mi scuzi, ateo?”, which means “Excuse me, atheist?”, although with my broken Italian (did I say broken?  I meant non-existent), who knows what I really asked him.  He and a girl standing next to him looked a little worried, but I grinned and pointed to myself and said “Atheist!  I’m an atheist – ateo americana!  I didn’t expect to see too many out atheists in Italy.”  He grinned, and his friend grinned.  He said in heavily accented English, “You like my shirt?  It’s a very important message.”  To which I replied, “Yes, yes, I like it very much – may I take a picture with you?”  And there we go.

And now off to bed at the wee hour of 2:00am local time – 7pm Minneapolis time 🙂

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Nightlife and An Atheist in Perugia”

  1. jana Says:

    After a en eventful night like this, I wonder what awaits you tomorrow.

    By the way – you look adorable. Totally European. Totally chic(k).

  2. Madeline Says:

    I love that you’re pestering strangers there. That’s the way to be!! Talking to people is may favorite part of traveling!!

  3. leogirl1975 Says:

    Soooooo cool! I am totally living through you when I read these! I am so happy that you and hubby are having a wonderful time! It looks sooo beautiful!

  4. Erin Says:

    Hahaha, you crack my shit up! Love it completely, good for you finding atheists everywhere you go. I now expect a picture with an atheist from everywhere you visit in Italy. Consider it a scavenger hunt!

Leave a Reply

