Perugia: Gluten Free Dining

Yesterday we meandered through the San Pietro area.  One of the highlights of the trip was finding this random crepe kitchen, Le Cre.  It was tucked near the end of a tunnel-like alley next to the Pozzo Etrusco, an ancient Etruscan well.

I noticed the word “glutine” in a few places around the shop and then I saw a newspaper clipping with the words “gluten free” in the title along with a picture of the place.  The bar tender saw me pointing and saying “gluten free” and she nodded.  She pointed up and at the ceiling and in that moment I learned one of the loveliest phrases of my trip thus far: Senza Glutine.  Directly translated it means “without gluten”.

She spoke a fair amount of English, and was able to explain that the senza glutine side of this particular kitchen has been dedicated to gluten-free food preparation.  She told us that there were a few GF restaurants in the area, and that they were very prevalent in Southern Italy.  So it was that I enjoyed a crepe in Italy.

We nom nom nom on a nutella e crema senza glutine crepe

On Wednesday we ran across another luncheon place that had a senza glutine section on the menu, so I was able to enjoy PASTA in Italy 🙂

Thatsa lotta pasta carbonara – and it’s gluten-free!

Tonight (Wednesday evening) we stopped back at Le Cre for one final crepe dinner.  The owners close up Le Cre for the summer on Friday, so even though we’re surrounded by bars, paninitecas, pizzarias, tavole caldas and ristorantes, we decided to vist them one more time. 

One of the cafe staff makes my senza glutine crepe

Salami, cheese, whole marinated “spicy” button mushrooms, lettuce, mayo on a GF crepe

Mom said she needs a short break from “Italian food”.  Tomorrow night – sushi!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Perugia: Gluten Free Dining”

  1. Sassy Says:

    I didn’t think it was possible to eat too much pasta – gluten free or not – while in Italy!

    Love the photos!! More more!

  2. Agatha82 Says:

    How amazing, never thought you’d be able to find gluten free pasta in Italy of all places. Good to know since I’m gluten intolerant myself. Glad to see you’re having a lovely time.

  3. leogirl1975 Says:

    I am soooooo happy for you that you are finding gluten free menus in Italy!!!!! Yay!!!!

    The pictures are breathtaking, I am VERY much enjoying looking at all of them! Molto bella!!!!

  4. Erin Says:

    How was the gluten free pasta? Is it something you would try to find back in the states? Also I love that 6th century church so very f’ing cool!

    • biodork Says:

      Oh, I buy GF pasta all the time at home. I just wasn’t sure if I would fine any here. The church was waaaay cool. Literally and figuratively.

Leave a Reply

