I can haz camera?

I would love to graduate from my point and shoot camera. I did move up when I bought my HTC Incredible smartphone. With 8mp, I have twice the resolution of my old 4.1mp Sony Cyber-Shot. But I want a camera that can take action shots (multiple frames per second – the fast click, click, click of fancy cameras), the ability to capture images in low-level lighting, and multiple lens options for wide angle shots and super-crazy zoom.

I haz no dinero for camera. *sniff* Suuuuure, I could swing it. But we’re trying really, really hard to get out of the debt. But when I am reminded of what a fancy camera can do it makes me want to look a little more closely at the no-interest for 12-months loan they were offering at the Ritz Camera I visited not too long ago.

And I was recently reminded of what a fancy camera can do.

Last Saturday I visited Como Park Zoo in St. Paul with Craig from the Minneapolis Skeptics for Darwin Day. He owns a Nikon D7000. It looks like this:

Image source

*drool* He was using a zoom lens and took bunches and bunches of photos. I was having fun snapping along. I have a pretty good eye for composition, but I think I’ve reached the limit of my current technology. Have a look – what do you think?

These small photos do not do Craig’s photos justice. I encourage you to click on his photos to see the incredible detail on his flickr stream.

Monkeys in the primate house. Challenges: Low, filtered light, fast-moving subjects, thick glass with reflections.

My photo – HTC Incredible, Auto settings, camera lens pressed to the glass to avoid reflection.

Craig’s Photo:

Emperor Tamarin DSC_1664

Snow Leopard enclosure. Challenges: Dark subject against snow, outdoor natural light – cloudy, fast-moving subject, fencing.

My photo, zoomed in as far as possible (unable to get close enough to fence to place camera between links):

Craig’s Photo:

Snow Leopard DSC_1920

Yeah, I’m jealous.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “I can haz camera?”

  1. Tweets that mention I can haz camera? « Biodork -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mully410, Brianne Bilyeu. Brianne Bilyeu said: I can haz camera? http://wp.me/pJYhs-10Q […]

  2. Jana Says:

    I enrolled in a photography class out of sheer boredom. Or stupidity, I don’t know. It’s a horrible class that meets way too far from my home and is filled with 60-year-olds who need help finding the ON button. I bang my head against the desk everytime I am there. Thankfully, we only have one class left.

    I did, however, learn something there – something you learned through normal human interaction instead: there are certain limitations to those tiny point and shoot cameras. Since most of the pictures I take these days are indoors, in our architecturally very unfortunate windowless apartment, the lens the size of a nickel and no possibility of changing the shutter speed simply can’t perform. Period. And so, I drool with you.

    How about getting the camera together and sharing it? – I can have it every other weekend, and then Mondays, Wednesdays…. Kidding. But the thought of shared custody did cross my mind 🙂 I’m desperate.

  3. biodork Says:

    Your lens is the size of a nickel? You lucky duck! 😉 Oy, if you lived closer I’d totally camera-share with you. I’m the really tempted by the Ritz camera store’s 9month no interest payment plan. I could swing $70/month…

  4. http://arabiczeal.com Says:

    It is really a nice and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful info wiith us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Jimmie Says:

    Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your website by chance,
    and I’m shocked why this coincidence did not came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  6. mortgage advisers york Says:

    If not at work, then call their home or cell number.
    As people grow up they begin to pass through adolescence.
    There are government schemes that help first time buyers get
    their first property.

Leave a comment