Cross-Country Connections: Intrepid

Cross-Country Connections is a Biodork weekly blog entry dedicated to telling stories in pictures of three family members – me, my sister and Mom – living in very different locations across the country. Every week we choose a different theme and then take or contribute a personal photo that fits the theme. This week’s theme is Intrepid.

From me in Minneapolis, Minnesota: 

The year-round bicyclists in Minneapolis are some of the most intrepid people around. They ride in all conditions and all seasons, and they both have and know the laws in place that protect their right to ride safely around the city. This image is from last winter’s “Snowpacolypse”.

From Erin in Bellingham, Washington:

So this says a lot about me. An intrepid move for me is attempting a new recipe involving miso paste, rice vinegar, ginger and various other ingredients that I don’t often see in my kitchen.  It turned out fabulous! Salmon with miso-carrot sauce.

From Mom in Carbondale, Illinois:

This is one of my favorite pictures of my travels.  I felt really very intrepid.  It was a Globus Tour and I was pretty much on my own in Florence.  This is at the Ponto Vecchio (Old Bridge) right in the center of the old part of the city.  If I remember correctly a very nice man from London took the picture for me.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Cross-Country Connections: Intrepid”

  1. تور ترکیه Says:

    I am really wonder about bicyclists in Minneapolis who the can use bicycle all the season and all condition . It should be difficult .

    • biodork Says:

      It is! Some people – like the guy in this photo – just jump on their bikes and go for it. But there are some bicyclists that spend lots of money on very wide and soft snow tires, sturdy frames, and specialized bike components. They wear a lot of clothing! Also, they fall down a bit.

Leave a Reply

