The Emperor’s New Dinner

Soooo…here I am making dinner*. I’ve got some tilapia, I’m not really sure what I want to do with it** and so I’m looking for a jazzy new recipe online. I’m a very visual person when it comes to recipes – I want to see the finished product before I decide if I’m going to invest time and ingredients, hopes and dreams and all that. I’m thinking some wine, some capers and I come across this:

What the… Food photo cheat! And then I realized that it’s a Weight Watcher’s recipe, so maybe it’s some sort of new-fangled diet tilapia meal in which the portions are really, really, really small.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s how the real dinner turned out. I ended up throwing some garlic, salt, pepper, dried chives, “italian herbs”, red wine, olive oil, lemon juice, capers, green olives and  white onion in a bag, tossing it around a bit, then throwing the whole mess into the oven at 350F for 20 minutes. Nom nom nom. I made broccoli and cheater-rific Trader Joe’s pre-made risotto as sides. Nom nom nom.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Cuz if there’s one thing we young things know how to do, it’s make some dinner.

**I mean, I know what I want to do with it; I want to eat it. I’m just not sure how I want to prepare it.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “The Emperor’s New Dinner”

  1. Jana Says:

    Nom nom nom. Did you use your new camera to take the picture? [wink]

    • biodork Says:

      I did, and it’s not a great shot. I’m just learning how to use the manual focus today, i.e., last night I was relying on autofocus, and I had bad lighting. But the resolution on the olive slices and onions is pretty awesome at full size.

      • Jana Says:

        You’re right – the way the olives and onions glisten is amazing! Did you use a tripod to take the picture, or did you hand-hold the camera?

    • biodork Says:

      Hand-held.

      • Jana Says:

        With my current camera, I wouldn’t get a picture of this sharpness in such bad light even if I used a tripod. I’m evermore jealous 🙂

        What settings inspire you more to take pictures: indoor or outdoor? Do you have a favourite subject? Or are you a happy snappy photographer?

    • biodork Says:

      Hmmm…probably outdoor pictures. I like to photograph unusual things…or really boring things that are made unusual just by being noticed. I like to sneak photos of strangers when I don’t think they’re looking. I’m more inspired by photographing little details rather than grand panoramas. I don’t think I have a favorite subject. Yet.

  2. Paula Says:

    you silly.

Leave a Reply

