My Response to an Anti-Choice Note

Someone wrote me this note in response to my “Defend Reproductive Freedom” and “Keep Abortion Legal” bumper stickers.  I decided to answer his or her questions to the best of my ability.

Original Note:

Sorry to Meddle, But isn’t it hyprocritical to be for abortion when you yourself are alive? What if u were the one that was aborted. What about adoption. America want to save the whales, but abort the babies. Very sad. [sic]

My Response:

Hello unknown person who left the honest note on my car,

I do not think you are meddling – I welcome your hard questions and will do my best to answer them.

It is not hypocritical to support a person or family’s right to have an abortion when I myself am alive. This is because people do not have abortions to prevent life, but in order to prevent unwanted, unplanned or unsafe pregnancies, which if carried to term would result in a lesser quality of life for either the parent(s) or the unborn child.

To your second point – if I were aborted, we would not be having this conversation. That’s pretty much all I can say about that.

Lastly, you ask about adoption. I think that adoption is a choice, and if that choice is not acceptable for a woman or family, I would not pressure them to choose it over another form of reproductive control. Just as I would never presume to tell another woman or man how to raise their own child, I would never be so bold as to dictate to a woman or man how to have – or not have – a child in the first place.

Being pro-choice does not mean being “for abortion”; abortion is scary and a choice of last resort for most women and families. Nobody wants to have an abortion, but sometimes that’s the best – or only – option available. In these cases I want women and families to have safe and legal access to excellent physical and mental health care, and to not have to carry personal or social shame around in their hearts and minds afterwards.

PS – I think that whales and unborn children should be saved when at all possible. I am very pro-living.

Thanks for thought-provoking note, and for not just vandalizing my car instead.

I just folded up a printed copy of the letter below and placed it under the windshield wiper where I found the original note this morning.  I wanted to also post it here because I worked hard on the damn thing and know that it probably won’t be received by the author of the original note, so at least it will be seen by someone.  Thanks for reading it.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “My Response to an Anti-Choice Note”

  1. Judi Says:

    Wow, very well written. Too often, this topic escalates to blame and shame, forcing both parties to be defensive instead of speaking with logic and intelligence. And I love that you took the time and effort to respond.

  2. leogirl1975 Says:

    Fantabulous response, lady! 🙂

  3. bill Says:

    Here’s the response I’ve been giving lately if the person is willing to listen:

    Tell me that you are pro all life.

    1) Are you against the death penalty in all cases?
    2) Do you think it is wrong to drop a bomb on an apartment building 10,000 miles away, just because we think an enemy of the US is in it at the time?
    3) Are you in favor of comprehensive sex education in the schools, churches, and at home, such that all teenagers get access to the information they may need to prevent unwanted pregnancies and life-threatening diseases?
    4) Are you opposed to people with impaired fertility having access to IVF and follicle-stimulating infertility treatment, which very often produce excess zygotes?

    If you honestly tell me that you are pro-life in all of these areas, I will be happy to have a conversation with you about when life begins. If you are not, you are a simple hypocrite and I have nothing further to say to you.

    • biodork Says:

      *smiles* This reminds me of a Bill Hicks piece which essentially goes like this:

      “Don’t block med clinics, lock arms and block cemeteries. Let’s see how f*cking committed you are to this premise. ‘We’re pro-life, get her out of that casket. There will be NO death on this planet.'”

  4. Rachel Says:

    And I’d venture a guess that this particular pen pal of yours is about as likely to adopt a whale as an unwanted human baby.

    Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

