Cross-Country Connections: Art

Cross-Country Connections is a biodork weekly blog entry dedicated to telling stories in pictures of three family members – me, my sister and Mom – living in very different locations across the country. Every week we choose a different theme and then take a picture of something in our area that fits the theme. This week’s theme is Art.

From Erin in Bellingham, WA

So yeah…. this started simply as one definition of art being handcrafting. I knit and have created what I think is a pretty cool demonstration of that art in a visual display in my home.  This is part of my sea wall, which I one day hope to move to a large glass fish tank.  I’m mostly a dork and think it could come out really cool.  Here is a crochet coral, knit nudibranch and sea star.  The aquarium of my dreams will have more crochet coral and various knit sea plants. There is a giant handsewn angel fish on the wall that just wouldn’t fit in the picture.

From me in Minneapolis, MN


This is a total cheat – I never made it to the Minneapolis Institute of Art like I had planned!  I took this picture a couple of months ago when I went to see Wicked.  This gigantic beast was rigged high above the stage.  I like that I can see some of the lights in silhouette iat the top of the photo.

From Mom in Carbondale, IL

This is one of the few pieces of art that I own that might actually be worth some money someday.  The Artist, Sarah Vaughn, won the total 2009 Ricket-Ziebold award.  It was the first time in 20 years that the prize wasn’t shared.  Her work is incredibly fragile and beautiful.


Tags:

One Response to “Cross-Country Connections: Art”

  1. Erin B. Says:

    Mom, love that piece! It is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

