Cross-Country Connections: Movie Theater

Cross-Country Connections is a biodork weekly blog entry dedicated to telling stories in pictures of three family members – me, my sister and Mom – living in very different locations across the country. Every week we choose a different theme and then take a picture of something in our area that fits the theme. This week’s theme is Movie Theater.

From me in Minneapolis, MN

This single-screen, 1930’s era movie theater has a balcony, plays independent film and Saturday night midnight features (including the occasional Rocky Horror Picture Show!).   The Uptown is located on the corner of Hennepin Ave and Lagoon, and the 50ft tower announces that you have arrived in the heart of South Minneapolis nightlife.

From Mom in Carbondale, IL

This is The Varsity, the oldest theater in Carbondale.  “Back in the day” two graduating seniors, to say thank you for typing 300+ envelopes for resumes, took me and the other student secretary from the campus housing office here to see some god-awful “R” rated movie and then out for drinks.  A year later, I ran into one of the graduates, home for a visit.  He called me and asked me out.  We went to The Varsity and saw Judge Roy Bean.  The rest, as they say, is history.

From Erin in Bellingham, WA

This pic is kind of a cheat but it actually really does represent my movie-going experience here in Bellingham.  We haven’t been to a movie theater a single time since moving here, but we do watch a lot of movies with the amazing instant stream Netflix through the Wii on our 20+ year old tv.  The snacks are cheap and plentiful, attire is pajamas, and there are no loud children… a perfect movie experience for me.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Cross-Country Connections: Movie Theater”

  1. Alannah Murphy Says:

    Love old cinemas, they have such atmosphere but I haven’t been to see a film since April this year. It’s become way too expensive plus there aren’t that many decent films I’ve wanted to see.

    You know, I was wondering how come I’d not seen your great posts when I realised I’d had to unsubscribe and hadn’t re-subscribed since I moved blogs D’OH!

Leave a Reply

