Bow to Lord Vader. Or God. Whichever.

I found this over at Attempts at Rational Behavior, a blog that tracks Facebook and Twitter messages having to do with religion, far Right politics, and pseudoscience:

“the worshipers of darwin believe that God did not create life. however they cannot say, or prove that there is no other life form somewhere out there in space. all scripture re: God, says that He is in a place where we cant go, or see until death. a place where science can never find. i know alot of you believe in star wars. and i think if darth vader came and told you bow down, you would have no choice but to do so. God promises that someday he will come and wipe out and evil, and every knee will bow. you have a choice right now, to evolve your way of thinking, and ask Jesus to save you before you run out of time.”

Hmmm…using one type of fiction to support another…  Who believes Star Wars?  What does that mean?  I believe Star Wars is an awesome underdog-comes-out-on-top, good vs. evil, ficitional series.

Yes, if Lord Vader appeared before me and told me to bow down, there’s a good chance I’d comply.  Likewise, if God appeared before me and told me to bow down, there’s a good chance that I’d comply. But I’m not bowing to Vader if George Lucas is the one telling me to do so.

One of the reasons why I can’t get behind all of this religion stuff is because it requires me to take Joe Shmoe’s word that God wants me to comply (or ELSE!).  When God (or Lord Vader) starts doing her/his/its own talking, I’ll be allllll ears.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Bow to Lord Vader. Or God. Whichever.”

  1. leogirl1975 Says:

    VERY, well said!!!!!

  2. Lord Vader and/or God Says:

    I find your lack of faith disturbing.

    • biodork Says:

      Heeeeey! It’s Lord Vader! Or God! Wait, I’m confused. Hey, if you’re upset about that whole “fiction” thing, I can have my people call your people and they can get things straightened out, right? heh heh.

  3. Julie Says:

    Thanks for linking to my site. I believe I found that status in the Facebook group “we can find 1,000,000 people who don’t believe in Evolution befor June” (yes, that spelling error is in the group name).

    I can’t imagine choosing a faith because of fear. This guy wasn’t sweetening the Jesus deal by pushing the “bow down or else” line.

    • biodork Says:

      Thanks for stopping over! I love what you’re doing with A@RB – thanks for being a resource for rationality with regards to religious rationalization (I just made up all that alliteration on my own. Just now. Thought you should know.).

  4. The Bronze Bow | Shout Joyfully Says:

    […] Bow to Lord Vader. Or God. Whichever. (biodork.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

