Cross-Country Connections: Halloween

I’m trying out a new weekly feature which I’m calling Cross-Country Connections.  I found this idea through Jana’s blog.  Long story short, there is an awesome photo blog called Happy Snappy, which is run by two bloggers – one living in Finland and the other in Scotland.  The Happy Snappy bloggers decide on a theme, and then each of them takes a picture in their country that fits the theme.  They both take incredible photographs, and it’s neat to see their different perspectives.  Jana and four of her friends from both sides of the Atlantic (Ukraine, Spain, Germany, Michigan and Indiana) are trying out this idea in a new blog called Transatlantic Panorama.

This sounds like a blast and a half to me, so I asked my Mom and sister if they would be interested in participating in a similar project.  Mom’s in Carbondale, Illinois, Erin’s in Bellingham, Washington and I’m in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

They’re into giving it a try!  So, every Monday we’ll have a new theme and we’ll see how it goes.

Mom picked this week’s theme: HALLOWEEN.  Here are our photos:

Mom: Spooky Tree

Spooky Tree spotted in Southern Illinois

Erin: Thrillingham 2010

Once a year, Bellingham’s Zombies unite and show you how the dead like to get down.  This is one of the largest annual Thriller dances in the country!

Brianne: Headless Horseman

Headless Horseman statue found at ValleyScare.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Cross-Country Connections: Halloween”

  1. Agatha82 Says:

    EEEK that headless horseman statue is truly haunting. Great idea.

  2. jana Says:

    These are amazing photos! I love your mom’s – the tree looks like it’s just about to devour the little shed underneath.

    I am so happy that you, your mom and sister are giving this photo blogging a try. Knowing how excited it has been making me, I can imagine how wonderful it must be having a project like this to share with your family living far away. Speaking completely frankly, I wish I had the idea of getting my sisters involved instead of my friends. It seems like keeping in touch with friends has been so much easier than keeping in touch with my sisters.

    Keep it up – can’t wait for next Monday. And, thanks for the links 🙂

Leave a Reply

