Link Happy

I keep track of the blogs and websites I follow by adding them to my blogroll. I have them split up into categories, and I noticed that I’ve been adding quite a few links in the past two weeks. So I thought today I would highlight some of my new happy places.

Blogs I Like
These are blogs that interest me and that have owners who update them on a regular basis, that is, on average once a day or more.  Some are personal blogs, others are more professional, and they deal with a wide range of topics.

Newest Additions:
L-I-V-E:  This is a personal blog by Jana.  She posts recipes, observations about life and the world around her.
NCBI ROFL: This blog presents the newest serious research in amusing and often hilarious ways.
Skepticblog: Group blog by a bunch of smartypants dealing with subject across the skeptical spectrum – paranormal, alternative medicine, legal and political woo, etc.

Blogs I’m Trying Out
These are either blogs that I like but that aren’t updated regularly, or they may be blogs that I think I like, but I want to watch them for a while before promoting them up to “Blogs I Like”.  Again, some are personal blogs, others are more professional, and they deal with a wide range of topics.

Newest Additions:
A Flash of Inspiration – Brand spanking new addition.  I found this blog through one of his comments on a wordpress Freshly Pressed article.  The artwork caught my eye first, and then the stories.
Here Be Dragons – A charming, quirky personal blog with one of my all-time favorite “About Me” sections.
Mostly Grocery – A unique blog about the daily challenges of a grocery clerk.
Prattlenog – An personal blog that deals with education, ponderings, musings and thoughts.
War for Science – A young Malaysian scientist, skeptic and atheist’s view of the world.

Entertaining and Fun
Nice Ride MN – This public transportation program just opened in the Twin Cities.  This is the bike rental’s official website.  Neat idea, I hope it’s here to stay!
thxthxthx – Cute and sweet.  It’s become as much a part of my daily online routine as lolcats and loldogs and failblog.org

Family and Friends
Leonine POV – My friend D’s personal blog – Lots of stuff about The Tudors TV show, Marilyn Monroe and pop culture.
Musings – My cousin C’s personal blog.  She just started it and she’s a super busy student, but I hope she sticks with it!
Temple of Conflict – My friend B’s personal blog.  Current affairs, gaming, and other stuff that’s on his mind.

GLBTA
Marry Me Minnesota – A legal campaign suing the state of MN for the right of three gay couples to marry.

Use Your Noggin
These are websites (not necessarily blogs, although some of the groups/sites do have associated blogs), of groups that I admire and from which I am excited to learn.  They may be science-focused, political, silly or intriguing for some of other reason.
TED Talks – Go watch ’em.  All of them.  Geeky, fun, intellectual.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Link Happy”

  1. Agatha82 Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the About Me section, I tried to make it amusing. Yours was one of the first blogs I ever read when I joined WordPress, which was not too long ago and I love reading about the things you write about. I am hoping to add more to my blog, just haven’t had a chance yet but thanks again for mentioning it 🙂

  2. jana Says:

    I humbly thank you, too. I just apologize for not being able to make up my damn mind about the name of my blog – as of now, I think I am changing it on a daily basis. Perhaps, I should make that “my thing” in order to avoid being completely lame.

  3. biodork Says:

    LOL, should I change the link name to LearnMakeThink?

    • jana Says:

      You know the problem with that one? I’m not crazy about it AND I cannot change it! But I guess that’s good for your Blogroll organization 🙂

  4. leogirl1975 Says:

    I confess, I am slowly adding more and more to my links every day. There are just so many awesome blogs out there and not enough time to read them all, so I have been doing much the same as you and adding them to my link/blogroll, lol!

  5. melaniebooth Says:

    Thanks for the add!

Leave a Reply

