Camping always makes me mellow.

I took a couple days off of work and went camping in St. Croix State Park this weekend.  We were rained upon – quite mightily – by both rain and mosquitos.  It rained on Thursday night.  It rained intermittently on Friday and Saturday.  The weather was kind on Sunday in that we were able to pack up camp and get everything in the truck before it started raining again.  Also, I went through an entire can of bug spray, but I haven’t found any ticks (yet).  I heart DEET.

The sky was crystal clear on Friday evening.  I felt like I was in a planetarium exhibit because there were just too many stars visible for the view to be natural.  We watched a deer meander across one of the dirt roads on our drive out to the campsite.  We hiked some of the trails in the area – during the day and then in the late evening (more bug spray).  My phone worked, but it drained the battery in a matter of hours, so I left it on airplane mode for most of the weekend.  Why airplane mode?  Can’t…turn…phone…off!

And even returning to the daily rituals is no chore.  I had a shiny new Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe waiting for me on the iPod for the morning commute.  At work I have an interesting experiment to run on a new instrument, and tonight is W00tstock v2.3 at the Guthrie.  I think  I’ll ride my bicycle downtown for the show.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Camping always makes me mellow.”

  1. Paula Says:

    You have a remarkable and positive outlook, my darling. I suspect I would have left Friday. Just 6 more weeks and I’ll give you a big hug.

  2. jana Says:

    Your weekend sounds eerily similar to mine. We, too, had a long weekend in the nature spiced up by rain and tornado-strength winds at times. Yet, it was amazing to get away from the city and smell the pine trees – I even got to see a few stars, too!

    On a different note, I was skeptical about Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe before, but I listened to it today, and all I can say is – thank you!

    • biodork Says:

      A rainy day in the woods beats a sunny day in the cubical 🙂 I’m so glad you’re enjoying SGU! I also recommend skepchick.com I’m excited to see Rebecca Watson at CONvergence in Bloomington, MN in a month.

Leave a Reply

