iHave no iPhone

But I do have the new Droid – Verizon’s HTC IncrediblePhoto source.

Droid Incredible by HTC : Front

And it is…it really is!

Back it up a minute…I decided not to go for the iPhone when I signed up for SCUBA lessons – the magic debit card only goes so far before it starts giggling hysterically at me.  But I really, really wanted a smartphone for the 3G access.  I want GPS, instant internet access and all of that computer-in-your-pocket technology.

So I did a little digging, and I found out that with my Verizon 2-year renewal contract plus an employer discount I was able to get a Droid Incredible for HALF of what I would have spent on an iPhone of equal memory.  Score – SCUBA and a smartphone!

On to the awesomeness that is the Incredible.

Now, I just received it in the mail yesterday, so I’ve only started playing around with it.  But it has the smooth movement of an iPhone – the scrolling screens fly by.  I’ve got pinch, drag and swipe capabilities.  The Incredible’s 8-megapixel camera blows iPhone’s 3MP camera out of the water.  And maybe the biggest benefit of the Incredible is that I can stay on Verizon’s network instead of switching to AT&T. 

The Android Market has a lot of similarities to iTunes App Store, but iTunes is for superior for number and variety of apps.  That’s okay for me because I still have my iPod Touch which I can use to download must-haves from iTunes.  I’ll keep my iPod and treat it as my primary music storage – look, now I have 32GB of storage across two devices (which is good, because I’ve already exceeded the 16GB limit on the iPod).

So far I’ve downloaded GeoBeagle (for geocaching), Google Earth, ColorNote (notepad), Color Flash (a superior version of the iTunes flashlight, IMHO), Urban Spoon, WordPress, and Calvin and Hobbes.  Good times!

iHappy.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “iHave no iPhone”

  1. leogirl1975 Says:

    Congrats on your new toy!!! I recently purchased a Samsung Behold II and I love it! Touch screen phones have opened up a whole new world to me and I confess, I am SUCH an app addict, lol! Have fun with it! 🙂

  2. Hubby Says:

    It sounds like the Droid will meet all of your needs and wants. And I think staying with Verizon is a good idea. However, if I ever buy a smartphone, it will be an iPhone with the Verizon network – sounds like I’ll still have to wait a while. I like the insurance of the Apple brand and the assurance that the iPhone is completely compatible with my iMac.

  3. Paula Says:

    Will wait patiently for you to discover all the bugs and kinks before I make a decision – i Still have a while on my contract.

Leave a Reply

