Cross-Country Connections: Five Minutes from Home

And, we’re back with the weekly Cross-Country Connection!

Cross-Country Connections is a biodork weekly blog entry dedicated to telling stories in pictures of three family members – me, my sister and Mom – living in very different locations across the country. Every week we choose a different theme and then take a picture of something in our area that fits the theme. This week’s theme is Five Minutes from Home.

From me in Minneapolis, MN:

This is the Midtown Greenway, a former railroad corridor in south Minneapolis that was transformed into a 5.5 mile-long paved bike and pedestrian path.  The Greenway really is green – and quite a bit busier – when it’s not covered in snow.

From Mom in Carbondale, IL:

This is a store front in what remains of the old downtown Carbondale.  Longbranch Cafe is a vegetarian restaurant and coffee shop.  I have researched books for whole papers in the back room and the fact that their wi-fi is sketchy is a plus.  Food usually makes you forget that there’s no meat involved.

From Erin in Bellingham, WA:

This is a view that I see every time I leave my apartment complex: The Canadian Rockies (Ralph thinks these are the “Golden Ears” peaks of Mt. Blanchard, but I think that’s too far away to be possible).  It’s a little silly, but I’m still astounded by how close I am to Canada.  These peaks are probably 50-70 miles away and they look like I could walk to the foothills of them (Additionally, note the clear blue sky… in the Pacific Northwest… in January.  Color me shocked).

Tags:

2 Responses to “Cross-Country Connections: Five Minutes from Home”

  1. Jana Says:

    OK, so this is weird, but your “5 minutes form home” is closer to my heart than I’d ever imagine possible:

    I am from Canada, so, naturally, the Canadian Rockies speak to me. My family lives in the Longbranch neigbourhood of Toronto. And part of Indianapolis Greenways network are the railroad tracks transformed into an almost 17 miles long Monon trail – enjoyed by pedestrians and cyclists alike.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

